Lighting
Good lighting is important if you want to have a quality render (output). Without good lighting, fireflies (white pixels) are more likely to occur.
Lamps can only be added in "Object" mode, using the add menu (shift+A). At minimum, there should be one lamp in your scene. Lamps will sometimes display differently between the different render engines.
Change the lamp type in the lamp properties
. The strength/power setting has a large impact on the brightness of the lamp.
Working with Materials
Be aware that materials do sometimes vary a little between the different render engines. If you end up changing engines, you may want to make adjustments to the material settings.
Make sure to change the shading (Z) to either rendered or viewport to see the materials. Viewport will just show the color, not the material impacted by light.
- Make sure the correct object is active in the Outliner
- In the properties panel, open the "Materials" tab
- Add the material by:
- If the object has no material, use the "+ New" button
- If there is already a material and you are adding a new one, use the "+" button next to the material name and then "+ New"
→
- Double-click on the material name to add a descriptive name (this is helpful if you reuse your materials later on)
- Customize and adjust material settings:
- Change the surface type by clicking in the name next to "Surface"
- Set a base color after the surface color by clicking on the color field (next to color or base color) to enable the color picker
- Adjust other settings as needed
The first material applied to an object will always display on the entire object. There must be at least 2 materials for a material to display on only part of an object.
- Set/change your first material as described above (the first material always applies to the entire object - until additional materials have been assigned)
- In edit mode, select the faces that should display in the new color
- In the materials tab of the properties panel, click on the + icon to add a new material
- Press "+ New"
- Click on "Assign" so that the selected faces use the new material (selected faces can be assigned at any time to any material)
- Adjust surface/color/other settings as needed
→
For more complicated materials, sometimes it is easier to work with "nodes" instead of the properties panel. See the node view in the "Shader Editor" - previously called the "Nodes Editor".
- Open an additional panel by clicking and dragging from the top right corner of the 3D window towards the left
- At the start of the menu for one of the 3D windows, change the window type to "Shader Editor"
- Adding/Removing materials:
- Towards the right of the Shader menubar, click on the new material icon (if hidden, use the scroll wheel to show) to add a new material
- Click on the "X" icon to unlink the material from the object
- Adding/Removing nodes:
- Add new nodes with "Shift+A":
- Move node to the desired location
- Left-click to keep the location
- Delete selected nodes with "X"
- Moving Nodes:
- Use "G" to move a selected node
- Placing a node between 2 others will connect the 3 nodes together
- Disconnecting Nodes:
- Click and drag on the connected socket of the right node
- Release away from that socket or connect to a different socket
Always make sure to customize the world background - whether that means changing the color or adding a background. Otherwise your render will always feel a little incomplete.
- Solid Color:
- In the world tab
of the properties panel, click on the colored rectangle next to "Color" and use the color picker - or type color values to choose a custom color
- Default Sky (Cycles only):
- In the world tab of the properties panel, click on the more options button (circle icon) to the left of color
- Select "Sky Texture"
- Choose a sky type
- Click and drag on the sphere to adjust the angle
- Adjust other colors as needed
- Custom Image:
- Choose a high resolution image and correct in Photoshop
- In Photoshop's top menu, go to "Filter → Other → Offset"
- Drag the horizontal and vertical dials to move the corners into the middle
- Use tools as necessary to blend/hide the visible edges
- Patch tool - to blend large areas
- Clone stamp - to paint with a small selection from the image
- Burn tool - to darken areas of the image
- Dodge tool - to lighten areas of the image
- Use "Filter → Other → Offset" again, to make sure the image still repeats well when set back to the original offset
- File → Save As
- Save your file as a PNG
- In Blender, go to the world tab of the properties panel and click on the more options button (circle icon) to the left of color
- Select "Environment Texture"
- Select your image with the "Open" button and press "Open Image"
- Adjust settings as needed
If you have changed render engines, most materials should automatically work in the new engine - though they may display differently. ALWAYS press a grey "Use Nodes" button, if it is there.
Rendering
Rendering is the animation term for outputting image(s) and/or video. Depending on the amount of complexity in a file (and the amount of calculating required to create the final frames) rendering is often very time consuming. Due to the level of variation between files, there is not one set of "perfect" render settings. Some render settings will also vary between the different render engines.
For a reasonable level of quality/speed, try the following settings as a starting point:
Depending on the level of complexity, Cycles can take a long time to render but it also can be incredibly accurate. If realism is more important than speed (and you have the time), use Cycles.
- Switch the shading view to Solid shading (Z → Solid)
- In the Render tab
of the properties panel:
- Change the render engine to Cycles
- Under "Render", lower the "Max Samples" to around 300 as a starting point (this is one of the largest factors on render time - higher numbers will be better for more complex materials or dimmer/complex lighting but will be a lot slower)
- Click on the menu icon next to "Light Paths" and choose "Full Global Illumination" (it takes a couple moments to update, but this updates all of the light path values at once)
- Under "Light Paths → Clamping", turn the "Direct Light" value to 1.0
- Under "Performance" → "Memory", make sure "Use Tiling" is checked and lower the tile size to 100
- Only turn on "Denoise", if necessary
- In the Output tab
of the properties panel:
- Set the resolution to 1280 (X) by 720 (Y) - this is the same aspect ration, but smaller
- Set the % based on how much time you have - 100% if you have time, 50-75% if you need to render more quickly
- Change the start and end frames to the length of your animation if necessary
- Under "Output", choose an output location that is easy to find. DO NOT use the tmp folder!
- If rendering to PNG (or another format that gives options for color depth), set the color depth to 16
- Save your file (CMD+S)
Always render a single test image before rendering the entire sequence, to make sure your settings work:
- Use the shortcut fn+F12 (on the mac extended keyboard, the function key is between the delete key and the numberpad) or in the top menu, go to "Render → Render Image"
- When the render is finished, if you want to save the render, at the top menu of the render window, go to "Image → Save As"
- Choose an easy to find location for the render
- Name the render as needed
- Press "Save As Image"
- Close out of the render window to return to the workspace
- Adjust render settings and repeat if necessary
Always render an image sequence before rendering to video! If something goes wrong or you run out of time, you can easily continue rendering from where Blender left off - without losing any frames:
- In "Output" tab of the properties panel, choose an image format
- PNG for most cases
- Multilayer EXR - only if you are doing compositing (3D Graphics II)
- Use the shortcut control+fn+F12 (on the mac extended keyboard, the function key is between the delete key and the numberpad) or in the top menu, go to "Render → Render Animation"
- When the rendering is finished, close out of the render window to return to the workspace
- If your render was interrupted, change the starting frame number in the "Output" tab of the properties panel to the next frame that needs to be rendered and repeat these steps
Only after rendering the image sequence, should you render to video - otherwise you risk losing the render progress if something goes wrong or you run out of time:
Video rendering is incredibly fast when rendering an image sequence - since Blender is just stitching together already rendered images.
- Open a new Blender file (this prevents old data from interfering with the video render AND stops the video from interfering with future changes to your original file)
- If opening Blender, select "Video Editing" under "New File" in the splash window
- If Blender is already open, go to "File → New → Video Editing"
- In the Sequencer's menu, go to "Add → Image/Sequence" (or use Shift+A)
- Select the render directory through the file tree on the left
- Select all of the rendered frames
- "A" selects all files in the directory
- Use "B" to enable box select (to select a smaller range)"
- Shift-click to deselect a single file
- Press "Add Image Strip"
- With the image strip selected in the Sequencer panel, go in the menu to "Strip" → "Set Render Size"
(this resizes the camera to fit the images instead of squashing the images to fit the camera)
- Press the spacebar to play and pause the animation - or use the playback controls at the bottom of the screen
- Adjust animation speed (only if needed):
- Speed up the animation:
- With the strip selected, find the "Duration" value in the right side of the sequencer, under "Time"
-
Add a forward slash "/" after the frame number, and a number for the rate to speed up the timing - ie. 26/2 to make the animation 2x faster then press enter
This will remove every 2nd frame (or etc.), resulting in a faster speed
- Slow down the animation:
- With the strip selected, add "Speed Control" (Add → "Effect Strip" → "Speed Control")
- In the right side of the Sequencer, uncheck "Stretch to input strip length" and add a speed factor value:
- 1 = current speed
- .5 = half the speed/twice as slow (any decimal number below 1 will slow down the speed)
- Calculate the needed strip length: orignal strip length/speed factor (ie. 26/.5 = 52 frames)
- Right-click+drag on the end of the image strip to increase the strip length to the new number of frames (ie. 52)
- Play the animation to see the change in speed
- Mkae any other adjustments as needed
- Switch the workspace to the rendering tab:
- In the Output tab of the properties panel:
- Lower the resolution's percentage only if rendering takes too long, or the image size is especially large
- Set an easy to find output location
(files in the tmp folder are hard to access and get deleted by the system regularly)
- Change the start/end frames to match your sequence if the values are different
- Set the file format to a video format - ie. "AVI JPEG"
- In the top menu, go to "Render → Render Animation" - or use the shortcut Ctrl+Fn+F12 | Ctrl+F12
- Close out of the render window to return to the workspace
- On your computer, find the video and make sure that it plays as expected